7 Days Walking - Day 2: CD


Release date: 19 April, 2019


Some things have their own hidden genesis. And just through this work of listening and analysis... I had almost 30 hours of music to listen back.

It’s like when you walk into a room filled with clutter and try to understand if there will be that one priceless piece that I need. In order to find the right one you need to clean up and throw things away, but always be careful ‘cause you might throw away something important...

- Ludovico Einaudi

‘Seven Days Walking’: seven bodies of music to be released over seven consecutive months. The first, ‘Seven Days Walking: Day One’, which interweaves piano and strings in his unmistakable style, is Einaudi’s 14th studio album and will be released on 15th March, on Decca.

‘Seven Days Walking: Day Two’ follows a month later. Each ‘day’ is then released, digitally, a month apart, leading up to ‘Day Seven’ which will be released in the autumn in a box-set of the complete Seven Days.

Inspiration for the entire project derived from walks that Einaudi would take through the mountains in winter. He explains, "In January last year I often went for long walks in the mountains, always following more or less the same trail. It snowed heavily, and my thoughts roamed free inside the storm, where all shapes, stripped bare by the cold, lost their contours and colours. Perhaps that feeling of extreme essence was the origin of this album."

The first album focuses on several main themes, which then recur in different forms on the following albums – seven variations following the same imaginary itinerary. Or the same itinerary, retraced at seven different times.

Seven Days Walking was recorded between September and October 2018 in Schloss Elmau (Germany) and Air Studios in London (England)

Ludovico Einaudi: Piano
Federico Mecozzi: Violin and Viola
Redi Hasa: Cello

1. Low Mist (Var. 1)     
2. A Sense of Symmetry     
3. Ascent     
4. Golden Butterflies (Var. 1)     
5. Birdsong     
6. Fox Tracks     
7. Campfire (Var. 1)     
8. Matches (Var. 1)     
9. The Path of the Fossils     
10. Cold Wind (Var. 1)     
11. Low Mist (Var. 2)     

CD Album
Decca Records