Seven Days Walking: CD Box Set


Release date: 17 April, 2020

All ‘Seven Days Walking’ albums brought together in one special boxset.

‘Seven Days Walking’: seven bodies of music to be released over seven consecutive months. The first, ‘Seven Days Walking: Day One’, which interweaves piano and strings in his unmistakable style, is Einaudi’s 14th studio album.

‘Seven Days Walking: Day Two’ follows a month later. Each ‘day’ is then released, digitally, a month apart, leading up to ‘Day Seven’ which will be released in the autumn in a box-set of the complete Seven Days.

Inspiration for the entire project derived from walks that Einaudi would take through the mountains in winter. He explains, "In January last year I often went for long walks in the mountains, always following more or less the same trail. It snowed heavily, and my thoughts roamed free inside the storm, where all shapes, stripped bare by the cold, lost their contours and colours. Perhaps that feeling of extreme essence was the origin of this album."

The first album focuses on several main themes, which then recur in different forms on the following albums – seven variations following the same imaginary itinerary. Or the same itinerary, retraced at seven different times.

Seven Days Walking was recorded between September and October 2018 in Schloss Elmau (Germany) and Air Studios in London (England)

Ludovico Einaudi: Piano
Federico Mecozzi: Violin and Viola
Redi Hasa: Cello

Day 1

1. Low Mist (Var 1)     
2. Low Mist     
3. Gravity     
4. Matches     
5. Cold Wind     
6. Golden Butterflies     
7. Fox Tracks     
8. A Sense of Symmetry     
9. The Oath of the Fossils     
10. Ascent     
11. Low Mist (Var 2)     

Day 2
1. Low Mist (Var. 1)     
2. A Sense of Symmetry     
3. Ascent     
4. Golden Butterflies (Var. 1)     
5. Birdsong     
6. Fox Tracks     
7. Campfire (Var. 1)     
8. Matches (Var. 1)     
9. The Path of the Fossils     
10. Cold Wind (Var. 1)     
11. Low Mist (Var. 2)     

Day 3
1. Low Mist     
2. Gravity     
3. Golden Butterflies     
4. The Path Of Fossils     
5. Campfire     
6. A Sense Of Symmetry     
7. Fox Tracks     
8. View From The Other Side     
9. Full Moon     
10. Matches     
11. Cold Wind     
12. Ascent     

Day 4
1. Low Mist (Var. 1)     
2. Cold Wind (Var. 1)     
3. A Sense Of Symmetry     
4. Gravity (Var. 1)     
5. Fox Tracks     
6. Low Mist (Var. 2)     
7. Campfire     
8. Cold Wind (Var. 2)     
9. Matches     
10. View From The Other Side     
11. Full Moon     
12. Ascent     

Day 5
1. Ascent     
2. Golden Butterflies (Var. 1)     
3. Gravity (Var. 1)     
4. Matches (Var. 1)     
5. View From The Other Side (Var. 1)     
6. Full Moon     
7. Campfire (Var. 1)     
8. Cold Wind     
9. Golden Butterflies     
10. Low Mist     
11. Low Mist (Var. 1)     

Day 6
1. TBC     

Day 7
1. TBC

CD Box Set
Decca Records